Welcome Back My Lovlies!

About 10 pm last night my friend Lori posted that there would be a good chance for the Auroras.

In 14 minutes, the Geomagnetic Activity level (Kp number) will be 5, at ‘STORM’ LEVEL!
In 29 minutes, the Geomagnetic Activity level (Kp number) will be 5.33, at ‘STORM’ LEVEL!
In 44 minutes, the Geomagnetic Activity level (Kp number) will be 4.33, Active, but below the ‘storm’ threshold.

I looked outside to see that it was still way to light to be able to see anything even if the sky had been on fire with them.  Plus, we had a full moon making the night sky just that much lighter when it finally did get dark.  So, the possibility of seeing the lights for the first time this year drifted from my mind as I scanned my Facebook page and other forums waiting to get sleepy.

Sunrise and sunset yesterday was:

Actual Time: 6:04 AM AKDT 9:41 PM AKDT
Civil Twilight: 5:03 AM AKDT 10:41 PM AKDT

What a wonderful surprise I got when about 2:30 this morning, I stepped out to the outhouse one last time before going to bed.  There was a huge green, wavy streak, lined with red even, going full across the sky.   I ran back inside and got my snuggly blanket from the couch, wrapped up in it as I quickly posted to Facebook to alert my late night Alaskan friends that the lights were out, then sat on my porch steps just watching in relief.   Yes, I say with relief.  Don’t ask me why that is what I felt.  It’s not like I thought that I would never see them again lol.  Perhaps it was just a reaffirmation that this truly is where I belong.  The Northern Lights are most definitely good for my soul.

2 thoughts on “Welcome Back My Lovlies!

  1. Carmen and Gip Moore says:

    Wish we saw them. We have seen them once I think it was last week. We just saw a glimpse through the clouds – nothing like what you saw. 😦 You can phone us any time you see them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

