Ice, Ice Baby!

At least it’s not on the roads this time.

It’s on my window!

 

My computer desk is right next to the big living room windows.  I was often chilly while sitting here so beefed up the insulating factor of the window.

Behind the drape I have a quilted curtain.

Behind that, I have a piece of styrofoam board in the window.  Yea, doesn’t look too attractive from the outside but I don’t really care.

Behind that the ice is building up a bit.

So, thought I’d take some pictures of my new load of heating fuel arriving.  It’s surely a happy day now!

I knocked the new snow load off the roof for him or it would have hit him in the face and might have been enough to knock the ladder down.  But it dumps onto the top of the tank so he had to clear it off.

Nice out today.

Bye fuel truck.

I’m so sick of doing it myself!  Here’s a video of me filling the tank using jugs.  It’s a pain in the ass for sure.

And just because I have Buddy Tabor’s song, Get Up Dogs, going through my mind a lot lately, I thought I would share it with you.  It’s one of my favorites.

(Runners = sled runners).  I simply love this song. He’s not actually singing to his dogs but to himself.

Get up dogs
You aint tired
With the spirit of this race
We can set this trail on fire
You were born unto the race
The dogs are just the same
You were made for the winners circle
It runs inside your veins

The days of alcohol
It never ruled your mind
You were born a free man
You never were that kind
People watch you cause you stand up proud and tall
That aint all

Get up dogs
You aint tired
The spirit of this race
We can set this trail on fire
You were born unto the race
Your dogs are just the same
You were made for the winners circle
It runs inside your veins

In summer time it’s hot
The bugs are in your face
Your mind is on your fishing
But your heart is in the race
When the seasons change
The snow will set you free
It’s the call of the wild
It’s the only way to be

Get up dogs
You aint tired
With the spirit of this race
We can set this trail on fire
You were born unto the race
The dogs are just the same
You were made for the winners circle
It runs inside your veins

As the snow disappears beneath your sled
You’ve lost all track of time
As nature’s rhythm pounds from a drum
Somewhere in the back of your mind
The elders sing, the people dance
And you go round and round
Into the dream the runners scream
As they slide across the ground

Get up dogs
You aint tired
With the spirit of this race
We can set this trail on fire
You were born unto the race
Your dogs are just the same
You were made for the winners circle
It runs inside your veins

And on that note, I’ll say goodbye for now.  Have a wonderful day my friends!

 

4 thoughts on “Ice, Ice Baby!

  1. Mel says:

    Love your blog and everyday snapshots of life in Fairbanks. Keep it coming! 🙂

    Like

  2. Edie says:

    Great pics as always. Thanks for sharing Buddy’s song – sounded to me like a metaphor of life. I can see why it would stay with a person.

    God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

