Getting strong.

“Anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, but only empties today of its strength”

Charles H. Spurgeon

We’ve returned from our trip to Chicken and Eagle.  What a wonderful trip it was.  Yes we were able to get the tent out of storage.  More on that later.  I am working on that blog post right now but it is a big one and taking lots of time.

The visit with my friends up the river from Eagle was good for my soul.  We are making some tentative plans for future adventures.  They loaned me the book, A Land Gone Lonesome by Dan O’Neill.  Oh what a book!  It fuels my dreams.

I ran my first 10K, the Midnight Sun Run, and ran it as Batman.  My goal was to finish in one and a half hours.  My time was 1 hour 30 minutes and 52 seconds so I am very satisfied.  This is the biggest race in the state with over 3500 racers, the Midnight Sun Run is a 10K race that starts at 10:00 pm.

Batman, Midnight Sun Run 2011

I ran as a member of the Justice League, an idea I came up with this winter to keep me going to the gym.  Why I am Batman is a story that some of you know but I will not be writing about at this time.  There is a reason though.

Midnight Sun Run, Justice League, 2011
Your friendly neighborhood super heroes.
There were over 3500 entrants in the race.  Costumes are optional.
Midnight Sun Run 2011
Feel free to view my other photos of the race here.  The ones taken of runners during the race were taken by my 12 year old son.  He did a good job, caught lots of costumes sitting in the yard of my aunt’s house at the two-mile mark.

Update!

We won a prize!  I had registered us as a group, The Justice League of course.  Unfortunatly the prize is TWO tickets to El Dorado Gold Mine.  I’m voting to give them to Janice and Michael.  I’m just tickled for us to have won something.

6 thoughts on “Getting strong.

  1. Once again, huge congratulations on your successful 10K.. What an accomplishment!!!

    Have to say that ‘Land Gone Lonesome” is a fabulous book!! It has inspired some dreams in my heart too!!!

    Like

  2. Edie Dykeman says:

    Congratulations! Great job – looking forward to the rest of the story. 🙂

    Like

  3. Regina Van Lone says:

    Great job on the Midnight Sun Run. I have been following your blog since I found it several years ago on the Iditarod Site. Yes, I am a confirmed Mushaholic and love a Samoyed named Dakota. Enjoy your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

