Measure Twice, Cut Once.

This is a pretty common phrase.  I mean, you all have heard it right?  It’s as handy as “lefty losey, righty tighty”.    With my late husband being in construction, of course I have.  But it also applies to other areas of life as well.  This phase actually just popped into my mind due to a Facebook messaged posted to my wall.  As many of you know, I’m pretty active on Facebook.  I try to stay non political and non controversial.  Because really, who wants to read that shit.  Every one has their own beliefs and some random Facebook post isn’t going to change anyone’s mind.

https://www.facebook.com/georganne.hurthampton

Last night a small plane, with 10 passengers crashed.  4 confirmed deaths.  Our local news was reporting it and I was posting about it on Facebook.  I posted the link to the most recent update.  I have friends who are pilots and friends who have friends who are pilots.  Opening my page I noticed, with a bit of shock, that a “friend” had posted a very graphic link under my share of the most recent crash update.  It was some Taliban link to the beheading of a 12 year old boy.  I didn’t follow it, only read the header available on my Facebook page.  I immediately knew my friend had been hacked.  As in, I gave her the benefit of the doubt.  I’m sure she wouldn’t have posted such a thing to my or anyone’s page.  I posted to it to tag her to alert her that she had been hacked and told her I was deleting the link.  Apparently she misunderstood.  But instead of saying “What?”, she posted this,

“I live in New Mexico so how the hell would I know about a Cessna crashing and whatever? You don’t discuss something such as what ever it is that bothers you? You just come out screaming accusations? I don’t like to be accused or censored Georganne so I have unfriended you AND I am blocking you for such unpleasantness. How horribly unkind of you.”

For one, how is saying hey, you’ve been hacked, you need to change your password, “screaming accusations”?  My friends and I look out for each other.  It was only common courtesy.  Unkind?  Really, I was trying to help out.  But if someone’s misunderstanding, and over reaction makes them want to unfriend and block me, I can only say, “You must not have been a very good friend to begin with (my bad, I thought you were, but I am trusting and a bit naive like that), don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out.”

5 thoughts on “Measure Twice, Cut Once.

  1. That’s a shame. Either she misunderstood or she was having a very bad day. That’s quite a reaction to what you were trying to let her know. Sad. I hope she realizes she over reacted and does get back in touch with you.

    Like

  2. Jenni says:

    Don’t let the door hit you. Exactly.

    Like

  3. 280dude says:

    G I would follow up with an email to her with a simple, short and polite explanation. Maybe she will be calm and then realize her mistake and feel terrible. It’s ok to screw up and to admit it. I wonder what she went into her head as she was reading what you typed?

    Like

  4. John says:

    WOW! Sounds like she wasn’t a friend. Oh well, life goes on. Can hardly wait for the Yukon Quest myself. Hang in there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

